Commitment Issues. Pot Roast love.

Leave a comment

December 5, 2013 by Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY

I’ve been a slacker.  No posts for months.  I have a rare disorder that causes me to bore quickly.  Ok, not really.  There is no good excuse.  Just haven’t had the urge to blog.  I’m back for today.  But I can’t make a long-term commitment, let’s take this one day at a time!  🙂

I recently fell in love with “The Pioneer Woman.”  I think the two of us could be good friends!  If you don’t know who she is, look her up.  Well after you read my post, then go!  I want to visit her house, hang out, work on the ranch and let her cook for me everyday!  This is my version of her pot roast!  Rib sticking, comfort food at it’s best. And easy.  Super easy I tell ya!  Here’s what you’ll need:

Iron skillet or dutch oven

3lb chuck roast

6 carrots, peeled and quartered

1 large onion, peeled and quartered

2-3 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled

1 cup red wine

1 1/2 to 2 cups beef broth

2 bay leaves

1 tbsp. thyme

1 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp. dried mustard

salt, pepper, Worcestershire, olive oil

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Before going into the oven, you need to brown the meat.  Heat skillet or dutch oven over medium-high heat.
  3. Drizzle 1 -2 tbsp olive oil in bottom of pan.
  4. Season both sides of roast with salt and pepper.
  5. Cook 2-3 minutes on each side until it is a nice brown color.  If you try to turn it and it sticks, let it cook one more minute.  If you turn it too quickly, you’ll lose the yummy crust.  Add a little more olive oil if your roast is being stubborn!  🙂 After both sides are browned, remove the roast.
  6. Now saute carrots, onions and garlic.  Just until they start to soften.  Remove from pan and set aside with meat.
  7. Deglaze pan with red wine.  Use a whisk to pick up all the browned, crispy goodness from the bottom of your pan.
  8. Now add roast, veggies, broth, thyme, bay leaves and oregano.  I also added a few tablespoons of Worcestershire.
  9. Put the lid on, place in the oven and forget it for at least 1 1/2 hours.  I checked the temp then to decide how much more cook time was needed.

My oven tends to cook quicker than suggested time, so the roast was done in about 2 1/2 hours.  No worries though, as long as you have enough liquid, your roast should be super fall aparty!

And although this recipe has a lot of steps, it only took about 20 minutes from start to finish.  You can do it!!

You may notice I don’t add potatoes.  Most people do.  I’m not a fan.  They get so mushy and have a weird consistency.  I make mashed potatoes instead.  To each his own.  This is another thing “Pioneer Woman” and I have in common.  See I told you her and I were besties…ahem, could be besties!  🙂

Here’s the link to Ree’s recipe:  The Pioneer Woman, Perfect Pot Roast

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
