Reclaiming our space!!!

6

January 30, 2013 by Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY

DSCN4284

We have lived in this house for 5 1/2 years now.   I’ve always disliked our bedroom, BUT fixing the living room, den, kitchen, bathroom, kids’ rooms were higher on our priority list.   I’m not going to show a before picture(I’m just that ashamed), but here’s a bit about the master bedroom.   Small, white walls, mirrored closet doors, one window and only one way to rearrange my ginormous bedroom furniture in said tiny room.   I loathed it!!!  So much so, I’ve had a hard time getting up the courage to “fix” it.   I was just so blah about the whole thing!   But after Jackson and Presly’s rooms were finished, I figured what the hell?

Dark blue, gold, gray and white, that’s the color palette.   Three words came to mind in thinking up this “design.”   Comfortable, simple and elegant’ish! My own made up word, thank you very much!!  The hubs and I have become master painters and finished in about 6 hours.   My hubby and his assistant, my mom replaced the hideous mirrored closet doors!   My parents also bought us new bedding for Christmas which helped the budget a lot!!   We got 800 thread count sheets and a down comforter!   We bought new pillows too, add that to the down mattress topper we already had and we never want to get out of bed! 🙂 We replaced the ceiling fan with a chandelier we had sitting in storage.  My best idea yet!   I did a few DIY jewelry holders, which I will tell you about in a later post.   I bought a few things at my favorite store, Hobby Lobby and still need to purchase art work for above the bed!!  I LOVE it and am kind of proud of myself for turning that dull room into a place I now feel very comfortable in!

While doing all of this hard work fixing up our bedroom, I had an epiphany!!   It may sound strange, BUT I’m going to tell you anyway.   Our bedroom has become a haven for hot wheels and dolls’ and kids’ clothes, like most parents, I’m sure!   Somehow it just finds a way there.   I made the decision that in our new bedroom, there would be no sign of our kiddos!   No pictures, no toys’ allowed, no kids’ clothes, nada, zilch, zippo.   They have plenty of places to put their stuff and the rest of my house is crawling with pictures’ of them.   So mine and the hubs room will be just that, OURS! Hopefully a space where we can be husband and wife, Natalie and Joe…not just mom and dad!!!  Don’t judge me!  🙂

PS I didn’t keep an itemized list for this redo!  I can only give you an estimate:

Paint and curtains = $75

Sheets, comforters, pillows/cases, throw pillow = $250

Cute stuff – Lamp, W, vase, candlesticks, DIY materials = $125

Closet doors = $125

Not too shabby?!  🙂

 

Once again, please excuse my poor photography skills!!  🙂

6 thoughts on “Reclaiming our space!!!

  1. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS! You are my kind of girl! 1. The dark, blue walls! 2. You were quite resourceful! 3.You kept a ‘real’ budget. I adore tour bedroom and happy that you have reclaimed the space as your own (well, for you and your husband). I have a ‘no kids’ rule as well. Sure, there stuff migrates into my room, but it always gets put back (eventually) where it belongs. Not a single ‘kid’ thing lives in our master bedroom either. I don’t think you are being selfish – you are ensuring your sanity!

    My one thought (and please feel free to ignore it) is that you may want to hang a curtain panel on the right side of the bed to add symmetry (you know for that faux window you have there 😉 ).

    Great use of the yellow/gold accessories. Thank you so much for sharing this real-life, charming space!

  2. Oh, one more thing, maybe matching bedside lamps? If not in style, at least in scale. (Again, you can ignore this kernel, too. 😉 Feel free to make suggestions for my spaces. I love any help I can get!)

    • Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY says:

      I’m glad you liked my space! It is nice to have a “no kid zone!” 🙂 I thought about doing a panel on the other side of the bed, but didn’t like the idea of a “fake window.” What would I do when I opened the curtains? It just seemed like it might be awkward to open a set of curtains to a mirror/wall?! Just not my style. And I am not crazy about matchy, matchy things! I like it a little more assymetrical!! I did put the larger lamp where there is not a window to add more dimension to that side of the room. Thanks for your input, I do appreciate it so much! 🙂 Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
