One crockpot, two meals.

1

January 28, 2013 by Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY

image

It’s been awhile, I know.  I have every excuse..sick kids, traveling, redoing my bedroom, blah, blah.  But now I’m back!  And you will be thanking me!  One chuck roast, two meals. Delicious, easy and cheap, cheap!  🙂  I was doing my shopping and found a chuck roast for $5-6, I couldn’t pass it up.  And we’ve all seen that recipe on Pinterest with the brown gravy, italian and ranch seasoning packets, right?  “Best roast ever!” (The link for the original recipe is at the bottom of this post.)  I decided to give it a try, with my own twist of course. So here is my take:

3lb chuck roast
2 packets Italian seasoning
1 packet Ranch seasoning
1 to 1-1/2 cups water, depending on how many vegetables added
Carrots, onions, potatoes optional

1. Turn crockpot on low.
2. Add roast, seasonings and water.  No need to make sure it’s mixed.
3. If you choose to add veg, cut into large chunks and add to crockpot.
4. Cook on low 7-8 hours.

I added a red bell pepper and white onion.  Loved the onion, the pepper…ehh, could’ve done with out.  It was a little too overpowering for me!  You could also add onions, carrots, potatoes, etc, but be sure to use more water if you add a lot of veg.  Perfect dinner for a cold, busy night!

Now for the second bonus dinner, if you didn’t inhale all of it the first go round!!  😉

You will need:

Rolls, I chose kaiser
Provolone cheese
Spicy mustard or mayo

  1. Reheat meat on low in oven or in microwave safe bowl.
  2. Drain all gravy off of meat.
  3. Toast roll.
  4. Add meat, cheese and mustard/mayo.

Use the gravy as an au jus!  Use swiss instead of provolone!  Or add cheddar and barbeque sauce for a completely different taste!  I hope you guys’ enjoy!  Happy Monday!!
 

Life as a Lofthouse (Food Blog): 3 Packet Roast.

One thought on “One crockpot, two meals.

  1. Joe says:

    Absolutely delicious!! Both times!! Love the provelone touch.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
