Pasketti.

3

December 6, 2012 by Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY

image

Ahhh, spaghetti.  My favorite childhood meal and now my son’s favorite meal.  It is a classic.  In my opinion, there are three spaghetti categories one may fall into:  A. one who gets to eat an authentic family recipe that is top-notch, lucky B. someone whose mother creates her own version of spaghetti, somewhere in the middle or C. a person whose mother’s idea of spaghetti is ground beef with a jar of sauce, not so lucky.  😀  There is absolutely nothing wrong with any of these scenarios, I fit into category B.  I LOVED my momma’s recipe as a kid.  I requested it for birthday dinners, bad days, etc.  You get the picture!  Well I have since grown up and like most people, my tastes have changed.  Although my momma’s spaghetti is still delicious, I like it a little different nowadays.  This is my grown up version of spaghetti and here’s what you’ll need:

2–28 ounce cans of whole peeled tomatoes, diced is fine too–drained completely

1–small can of tomato sauce

Ground sausage, use as much as you like up to 1 lb–I use 1/2 lb

1 tbsp dried oregano

1 tbsp dried basil

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp to 1 tsp salt, depending on taste

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp minced dried onion

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp butter

2 tbsp parmesan cheese

Parsley

Your choice pasta 

  1. Brown sausage.
  2. Drain tomatoes completely.
  3. Add tomatoes, spices and herbs(minus parsley) to food processor/blender and blend to desired consistency.
  4. After sausage is browned add tomato sauce and cook for a few minutes.
  5. Next pour in tomato mixture and simmer on for a minimum 30 minutes.
  6. Cook pasta according to directions.
  7. Add butter to your sauce.
  8. Toss the pasta with the sauce or make it look pretty by adding the sauce to the top of your pasta.  🙂
  9. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and parsley.

 

Tip–Like your spaghetti with a hint of sweetness or need an extra serving of veggies?  Try adding carrots, steamed or canned.  Eliminate as much liquid as possible and just add them to the food processor with the tomatoes.  My son is not a big vegetable eater so I sneak carrots in every time I have them for added nutrition and he is none the wiser!  😉  Like spaghetti with a little kick?  Use hot Italian sausage…that is my fave!

I also made these breadsticks…so good, I could eat them for dinner, all by themselves!  A must try and super easy to make!

Full Bellies, Happy Kids: Homemade Olive Garden Bread Sticks.

 Until next time my friends.   

3 thoughts on “Pasketti.

  1. Reblogged this on Annette J Dunlea Irish Author and commented:
    Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY thanks for posting..its a classic dish and a very quick one

  2. Joe says:

    Killer!! Absolutely amazingly delish!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
