Smelling good.

Leave a comment

November 13, 2012 by Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY

Homemade Fabric Softener

I wanted to try making my own fabric softener for a couple of reasons.  #1 This homemade version is super affordable.  #2 I refuse to buy fabric softener’s evil counterpart, dryer sheets.  What is it with those things??  It’s like our socks disappear and the dryer sheets reproduce.  Annoying!!  Anyway, I loved the result so I’m sharing it with you.  Here’s what you’ll need:

Pitcher/Container to store solution

6 cups of hot water

3 cups of white vinegar

2 cups of conditioner(my favorite is Suave Everlasting Sunshine)

  1. Pour hot water into container, followed by vinegar and then conditioner.
  2. Stir. I find using a whisk works best.  Do not shake.  Just stir gently until solution is mostly smooth.

I have a regular top loading washer, so I’m not sure how this will work with a front loading/h.e. machine.  I don’t know why it would be a problem though.  Use the same amount store-bought softener recommends.  Another trick I love is to take a clean washcloth and pour enough softener on it to dampen it thoroughly.  Let air dry completely.  Add to dryer with your laundry and you have your very own dryer sheet.  Use until smell has dissipated then repeat process.  This whole project took me 10 minutes.  And cost me $3.  That makes me happy!!  Hopefully it makes you happy too!  Until next time my friends.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

November 2012
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
