There’s a first time for everything.

4

November 8, 2012 by Piece of Pie and a Dash of DIY

My very first post.  I’m excited and nervous and anxious and did I say nervous?  This whole blogging thing is a lot more intricate than I suspected.  I hope you’ll be patient with me as I try to navigate this new experience.  So here it goes.  🙂

There are so many recipes and diy stuff that I want to share I’ve been a little overwhelmed trying to choose.  I decided to start with one of my favorite cold weather foods, chili.  It’s a quick, easy fix and very versatile.  And who doesn’t love a bowl of chili?  I like mine on Sunday snuggled up on the couch watching football.  Here’s what you’ll need:

Chili

1 lb ground beef (turkey, chicken or sausage would work too)

Few shakes of worcestershire

1 medium onion chopped

2-14.5 oz cans of fire roasted tomatoes, drained

1-16 oz can of chili beans

1-8 oz can of tomato sauce

1-8 oz ale beer (any beer or broth would be fine)

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp salt                                     

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp onion powder

1 tbsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp cumin

1 tsp white pepper

  1. Brown ground beef and drain
  2. Saute onion with ground beef
  3. Add all other ingredients
  4. Simmer on medium heat until you can’t take it any longer, but try to make it at least 30 minutes for maximum deliciousness

If you’d like to make it spicy add a few diced jalapenos or tomatoes with chiles, like it a little sweeter?  Add brown sugar.  And if you want to funk it up a notch add just a TINY pinch of cinnamon.  I know it sounds bizarre, but it totally does something yummy!  And please, please let me know what you think.  I can use all suggestions.  Until next time my friends.  ❤

4 thoughts on “There’s a first time for everything.

  1. Maradale Karafa says:

    Sounds yummy!

  2. carolyn johnson says:

    Welcome to blogging!!!! Nice job on this first blog Natalie! I still blog too. I hope the kids are well. I think about your family often & your always in my prayers! Happy Blogging! Again, it looks great!

  3. Odie Langley says:

    I am a blogger as well or at least I have been for 2 years and welcome new bloggers especially if it involves food. I love chili and will be trying yours. I also have recipes on mine which are mostly very easy but tasty ones. You can find it at http://odielangley.blogspot.com
    I’ll be following you on facebook and have linked you to my followers.
    Odie in NC

  4. Sarah Ezell says:

    Yay! So happy for you! Can’t wait to get all the inside scoop on your projects, etc!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

November 2012
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
